Return to Curriculum

Overview of the EYFS curriculum

Our curriculum follows the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which is the statutory framework for children from birth to five in England.

The four guiding principles help to shape our approach:

  • every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured
  • children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
  • children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers
  • the learning and development of each child will be different

We support the children in developing the ‘Characteristics of Effective learning’ and acknowledge these are an important part of how children play and learn.

  • playing and exploring – children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’
  • active learning – children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements
  • creating and thinking critically – children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things

The EYFS covers seven different areas of learning. We believe children learn best through play, first- hand experiences and talk. Staff plan engaging activities based on the children’s developmental needs and interests. Our high quality indoor and outdoor environments support the children in all areas of learning. Planned first-hand experiences such as cookery and Forest school, also provide additional, rich learning opportunities for the children.

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Art and Design